妄想–中国的绿色建筑梦

AR (The Architectural Review) 杂志, 2012年8月
by Pascal Hartmann

2011年,中国城镇人口首次超过农村人口。6.91亿的城镇人口占13亿中国总人口的50%以上。到2030年,这一数字预计将达到10亿,并将有221个中国城市人口超过100万。这将成为历史上规模最大的城镇化项目,无论好坏,其成果都将塑造21世纪。

随着城市的发展和生活水平的提高,能源消耗也在不断上升。效率低下、污染严重的燃煤电站承担了中国70%以上的能源生产,他们带来的黄色烟雾已成为普遍的城市现象。污染对生活品质的不利影响,建筑物的能源消耗率令人担忧。目前,建筑物消耗了27.5%的中国能源,随着持续发展,预计这个比例将上升到40%。

建筑耗能解决方案似乎正在需求和推行过程中。绿色建筑和绿色建筑认证,如LEED或中国三星标准,以及低碳或零碳设计,正成为全国各地论坛会议热议的主题。媒体也关注并推崇最新的引人注目的绿色项目,传达绿色建筑将会是未来的、干净的、卓越的事业的印象。但绿色建筑是否真的有潜力改变中国当前的发展模式,使其走上一条更加可持续发展的道路?当今,中国大约有750万平方米的开发面积通过LEED认证,如果将这个数字与每年有约20亿平方米的新建建筑面积相比较,我们就发现这是一个令人印象深刻的数字。就整个行业而言,LEED的影响力一直处于边缘地位,显得微不足道。

建筑话语的不平衡导致只有极少数的项目受到较多关注。具有主导话语权地位的绿色建筑都不是标准形态,而是特殊的或不同寻常的。尽管他们可能是令人激动的,但并不代表中国现实的城市景象。在现实中,中国市场的本质阻碍了绿色建筑的发展。

例如史蒂文·霍尔(Steven Holl)设计的水平的摩天楼,深圳万科中心。该建筑荣获LEED白金奖并获得国际认可,而万科是中国最大的住宅房地产开发商,仅在2011年就售出1075万平方米的住宅建筑。万科不会出售万科中心,并对这类绿色建筑保持着长远的兴趣。绿色建筑高度的市场价值与它向外界展示的公众形象,都与万科的企业理念和它在这个最具活力的市场中的地位息息相关。但这与大众市场不同,与每年新建的20亿平方米的建筑面积的大部分无关。

绿色建筑与设计和开发流程也不协调。真正的节能建筑设计是知识密集型设计,需要一定的时间。在中国高速发展的大背景下,项目时间安排通常紧张,大部分的概念设计阶段一般不超过四周时间,而大部分的设计决策和方向都在此阶段确定。由此,中国的设计和施工质量普遍较差。如若规划者、设计师或工程师缺乏认知将会加剧这些缺陷,并对标准产生负面影响。当今,中国建筑的平均寿命约为30年,而英国建筑寿命则为132年。在中国竞争激烈的房地产和建筑市场中,节能建筑的长期收益难以获得开发商的认可。能源效率不是买家的优先考量目的,因此缺乏需求。由于建筑成本低是市场的特点,节能设计相对较高的成本没有任何优势。尽管中国的规范条例对建筑节能的要求相当严格,但住房和城乡建设部(MOHURD)表示,城市中只有23%的建筑物确实是节能的。由于缺乏监管和执法,这个估算数字可能也过于乐观。

考虑到中国建筑业的现实,许多人认为,绿色建筑将有望带领大众市场产生自上而下的神奇转变。也许这里有很多一厢情愿的想法,但端正对绿色建筑的批判性态度是必要的。事实上,绿色建筑这个概念似乎阻碍了中国建筑在能源效率方面有更大规模的提高。

首先,绿色建筑设计与绿色建筑认证业务相结合的想法提出了一个错误的问题:是否要建造一座绿色建筑。相反地,这个问题始终应该是一栋高效节能建筑是怎样的。如果绿色建筑成为了标签或营销工具,那么以节能为目标的优化建筑的做法就会被边缘化。其次,中国绿色建筑的重点放在建筑技术和新型先进材料上。对其而言,绿色建筑是新的、时髦的东西。例如,中国某南方城市发展低碳社区的战略文件中,用近百页的篇幅对太阳能电池板,热泵和风能等的使用进行了介绍,却并没有提到建筑朝向、通风或窗墙比等问题。将先进的建筑技术添加到设计不佳的建筑物中仅仅是一个毫无意义的象征性姿态,现实中只能沦落为形象工程。

在中国,对于高品质设计有着重要的需求,但绿色建筑可能并不能成为能源相关问题的解决方案。设计师需要在给定的预算和项目要求的限度内,针对每个项目提出最高效的解决方案。建筑节能始于卓越的建筑设计,并受益于优化的用户行为。绿色建筑技术并非建筑节能的答案。设计本身可以使建筑节能50%以上,可持续设计应该成为建筑师职业精神的核心,并将其视为无论时尚或流行的新建建筑都应遵循的标准。

左图为深圳万科中心,该建筑荣获LEED白金奖并获得国际认可。

The Green Delusion

AR (The Architectural Review) Magazine, August 2012
by Pascal Hartmann

In 2011, the urban population of China exceeded that of rural areas for the very first time. A total of 691 million people, over 50 percent of China’s estimated 1.3 billion inhabitants, live in cities. By 2030, this number is expected to rise to one billion, with 221 Chinese cities having more than one million inhabitants. This is the largest urbanization project in history, and for better or for worse, its outcomes will shape the 21st century.

As cities are growing and living standards are improving, energy consumption is rising. Inefficient and pollutive coal-burning power stations account for over 70 percent of China’s energy production, contributing to the yellow smog that has become a common urban phenomenon. With pollution having a detrimental effect on quality of life, energy consumption rates for buildings make worrying reading. Buildings currently use 27.5 percent of China’s total energy output. This is expected to rise to 40 percent as development continues.

A solution seems to be on the way. Green buildings and green building certificates, like LEED or China 3-Star, as well as low or zero carbon design, are the subject of discussions at conferences across the country. Media attention is also focused on the latest high-profile green projects, presenting the impression that green architecture is tomorrow’s business, a clean business, a good business. But does green architecture really have the potential to change the current development model and set China along with a more sustainable path? Approximately 7.5 million square meters of the development area in China have been LEED certified – an impressive figure until it is put into context within the two billion square meters of new floor space created every year. In relation to the overall industry, the impact of LEED has been at best marginal, and at worst insignificant.

An imbalance in architectural discourse has led to a very small number of projects receiving a disproportionate share of attention. Green projects tend to dominate the discourse, but they are extraordinary and unusual rather than the norm. Though they may be inspiring, they do not represent the reality of the urban landscape in China. On the ground, the impact of green architecture is being hindered by the nature of the China market.

An example is Steven Holl’s horizontal skyscraper, the Vanke Center in Shenzhen. The building achieved LEED Platinum and gained international recognition, yet Vanke is the largest residential real estate developer in China and sold 10.75 million square meters of ordinary floor space in 2011 alone. The Vanke Center is the one building Vanke will not sell and in which Vanke has a long-term interest. Its high marketing value is related to the public image which it presents to the outside world both in terms of Vanke’s philosophy and their place in this most dynamic of markets. The dilemma of green architecture is that this represents its true value to developers. It is not compatible with the reality of the mass market and is irrelevant to the majority of the two billion square meters of floor space that is built every year.

The design and development process is also incompatible with green architecture. Truly energy efficient buildings are knowledge-intensive designs, and implementing this knowledge requires time. Because of the staggering speed of development in China and the resulting tight project schedules, the conceptual design phase – in which most design decisions are made – is usually no longer than four weeks. As a consequence, design and construction quality in China is poor. A lack of knowledge among planners, designers, and engineers exacerbates these failings and has a negative effect on standards. Today, the average building lifespan in China is around thirty years, compared to 132 years in the UK. In China’s ultra-competitive property and construction market, the long-term gains of energy efficient buildings are difficult to communicate to developers. Energy efficiency is not a priority for the buyers, so there is a lack of demand. With low construction costs a characteristic of the market, the comparatively high price of energy-efficient design offers a little incentive. Although building codes in China are rather strict on energy saving regulations, the Ministry of Housing and Urban-Rural Development (MOHURD) have stated that only 23 percent of buildings in urban areas are actually energy efficient. Because of a lack of regulation and enforcement, even this modest estimate may be too generous.

Taking the reality of the building industry in China into account, many argue that green architecture will lead to a miraculous top-down transformation of the mass market. There is a lot of wishful thinking here and a more critical attitude towards green architecture is necessary. Indeed, it seems that the very idea of green architecture stands in the way of improving the energy efficiency of buildings in China on a larger scale.

First, the idea of green building design combined with the business of green building certification poses the wrong question: whether to make a green building or not. Instead, the question should always be how energy efficient a building can be. If green architecture becomes a label and marketing tool, the practice of building optimization with the aim of saving energy will become marginalized. Second, the emphasis on green architecture in China has been placed on building technology and new, advanced materials. Green architecture is the new, the hip thing. For example, a strategy paper for the development of a low-carbon community in a southern city in China elaborated over nearly one hundred pages on the usage of solar panels, thermal pumps, and wind energy, but did not once mention building orientation, insulation or wall to window ratio. Adding advanced building technology onto a poorly designed and constructed building is just a meaningless symbolic gesture, but is the reality of this image-driven approach.

China has a vital need for higher quality design, but green architecture may not be the answer to its energy-related concerns. It is up to designers to approach every project with the intention of maximizing energy efficiency within the limits of the given budget and the project requirements. Energy efficiency starts with the optimization of building design and is followed by optimizing user behavior. Green building technology is not the answer. When design alone can make buildings up to 50 percent more energy efficient, sustainable design should be at the heart of the architect’s professional ethos and be the standard for the development of all new buildings, regardless of fad or fashion.

Picture in left: The Vanke Center in Shenzhen. The building achieved LEED Platinum and gained international recognition.