关于中国城市更新的五项认知

城市更新现已成为备受关注的话题,其内容涉及政府政策、城市规划、城市管理与发展、商务拓展、建筑设计和创新科技等多方领域。罗昂实验室有幸出席“2017中国城市更新论坛”,投身于中国最前沿的城市更新论题讨论。经过梳理,总结归纳了此次论坛的几大亮点。

城市一体化

旧建筑的再利用以及城市更新所带来的正面效应正在被广泛接受

几位演讲嘉宾提到了“有机更新”的城市更新策略,将重点放在现有建筑的保护与维护上,此策略价值来源于欧洲城市案例的借鉴。中国城市当局也给予城市更新进程的推进与发展越来越多地关注。相比十年前大量老旧建筑被简单的推倒、拆除、重建,中国的城市发展已经经历了巨大的转变。
住建部政策研究中心主任秦虹女士强调了城市需要有机更新,在保持原有的城市机理和建筑外貌不变情况下进行更新,形成变与不变的内在统一。王林女士(上海交通大学中国城市治理研究院,城市更新国际研究中心主任)提到了”更新通廊”这一概念来形容城市更新所引起的连锁反应,从周边将延伸到整个城市。
城市社会行为的转变被越来越多地认为是城市更新进程背后的重要推动因素。日益改变的消费需求和模式不断催生出新的城市功能来改善过时和不具吸引力的城市空间。因此,如何进行建筑改造和城市功能的创新的话题也在不断的被探讨。

多元合作

开发商、政府与城市公众之间的合作将推动项目积极的发展

来自地产开发和投资领域的嘉宾通过案例分享了如何通过建筑现代化与适用性再利用提升物业价值。尊重并且延续城市肌理是项目成功的前提。大会主席苏鑫先生建议开发商、政府与城市公众之间进行多元合作。城市公众作为地产产业链中的潜在买方和最终使用者,对行业未来的创新与发展至关重要。然而,目前的城市更新过程基本没有公众参与,如何将城市公众融入到多元合作中仍然是未解之题。

创意园区

红坊-上海同一地点城市更新迭代的成功样本

在过去的10-15年间,将工业遗址改造成创意园区已经成为一种趋势。李江先生(融侨集团助理总裁、华东区总裁)分享了上海著名创意园区红坊的最新改造成果。红坊改建于上钢十厂原轧钢厂厂房,以上海城市雕塑艺术中心为主体而立,常年来一直是综合文化中心、创意办公以及各类公共艺术活动的聚集地。作为虹桥路地铁站片区更新升级规划的一部分,红坊被融侨集团买下后暂时关闭并进行改造重建,目前大多数结构已经被拆除,仅保留了长条形生产厂房建筑。改造后的红坊-上海融侨中心成为集办公、商业、文化、公共空间为一体的复合功能园区,将成为上海滩的文化新地标以延续城市艺术与文化的记忆。红坊的再次升级发人深省,以创意园区改造为策略的城市更新能否旷日持久抑或是昙花一现?

新功能与新型商业模式

多形式与多尺度下的城市更新将不断开拓新型商业发展模式

众多演讲嘉宾,包括一些来自房地产信托投资基金(REIT)的演讲嘉宾,在此次城市更新论坛上介绍了融资、开发以及运营城市更新项目的不同商业模式。由于这些项目相对复杂,因此需要相对灵活的商业模式。嘉宾皆认同功能混合的商业模式是走向成功的最重要因素,而同时也会带来新的挑战。单一功能的商业发展模式在过去的城市化进程中处于主导地位,而城市更新带来的全新城市空间形态将引发对商业模式的更多探索,例如因政策鼓励盘活存量房而异军突起的长租公寓市场。

新型办公空间

城市更新带来办公空间与形态的多元化更新迭代

几位联合办公领域的演讲嘉宾展示分享其联合办公品牌:纳什空间(Nashwork)、梦想加(My dream+)、德必(WE)、优客工厂(URwork)等,并强调了办公空间的持续发展和对新型办公空间形态需求的不断演变。一直以来,办公空间都是一个经久不衰并广为讨论的话题。有趣的是,越来越多的新型办公空间通过改造利用,完美契合于老旧的工业建筑和废弃的购物中心中。
在共享经济时代,新科技带来了全新的人与空间环境的交互性关系。小米科技生态链三副总裁夏勇峰先生提到,“和过去一样,我们仍然会在旅行中用到行李箱,但是行李箱中装的是什么,早已经和过去不一样了。”在城市更新的过程中,办公空间也将持续并不断地更新迭代。

5 Cues about Urban Regeneration in China

URBAN REGENERATION IS CURRENTLY A WIDELY DISCUSSED TOPIC, ALMONGST VARIOUS AGENTS IN THE FIELDS OF GOVERNMENT POLICIES, CITY PLANNING, CITY MANAGEMENT AND CITY DEVELOPMENT, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT, ARCHITECTURE DESIGN AND NEW TECHNOLOGIES.
LOGON LAB ATTENDED THE CHINA URBAN REGENERATION FORUM 2017 IN BEIJING TO GAIN INSIGHT INTO THE CURRENT DISCUSSION REGARDING URBAN REGENERATION IN CHINA. IN THIS ARTICLE, WE HIGHLIGHT SOME OF THE TOPICS THAT WE FOUND INTERESTING AND INSPIRING.

CITY INTEGRATION

The value of reusing old buildings and the positive impact of urban regeneration on the city is now widely accepted.

Several speakers promoted the strategy of a “virtuous urban” regeneration process, where the emphasis lies on the conservation of existing structures. The value of this strategy was demonstrated by case studies from cities in Europe. City authorities in China are currently paying more attention on the process of urban regeneration. This is a significant shift in China’s urban development, where just a decade ago, it was common practice to demolish old structures without much consideration to make place for new developments.
Ms. Qinhong (Director of Policy Research Center in China Ministry of Housing and Urban-Rural Development) emphasized the relationship of regeneration projects with the rest of the city. While Ms. Wanglin from Jiaotong University pointed out “transfer corridors”, to describe the potential ripple effect of urban regeneration process on the immediate surroundings to the city as a whole.
It is understood that changes in the behaviors of the urban society is a significant driver behind the urban regeneration process. The allocation of new functions to replace outdated and unattractive spaces is a response to changing needs and consumption patterns. This raised the questions on how the transformation of buildings and its adaptation to new functions should be approached.

A FRUITFUL COOPERATION

A cooperation between developers, government and citizens is considered beneficial for project development.

Speakers from several real estate firms and investment companies presented projects that demonstrated how building modernization and adaptive reuse of outdated structures increases the value of properties. However, to achieve positive results, projects must be developed with regards to the existing urban context. To be successful, Mr. Suxin, Conference chairman, suggested a close cooperation between developers, government and citizens.
Currently, local citizens are rarely directly involved in the planning process of urban regeneration projects, even though they are recognized as the potential buyers and end users by the industry.  The integration of citizens is a crucial step for future innovation and development, but the question on how to involve them in the development process remains a challenge.

CREATIVE PARKS

Red Town in Shanghai offers a powerful example for the iteration of urban regeneration on one site through the years.

In the last 10-15 years, creative parks have been a popular redevelopment strategy for industrial sites. Mr.Lijiang, from Rongqiao Group, presented the new design for Red Town. The creative park has been known for many years as an art venue and creative office area with an inviting public art space at the center. The site was bought by the Rongqiao Company after the former steel factory closed a while back and is currently undergoing redevelopment. Most of the existing structures have already been demolished, with only the long production hall remaining. The site is now a large construction site. The redevelopment is part of the overall upgrading process of the area around Hongqiao Metro Station. Red Town will reopen as the Shanghai Rongqiao Centre, a mixed-use complex with office, commercial, culture and publics pace. Art will be the theme of the redevelopment as a legacy from the previous site identity. This rather radical approach to urban regeneration poses the question of whether Shanghai’s creative parks are just a short-term solution or an urban typology that will be sustained in the long-term.

NEW FUNCTIONS, NEW BUSINESS MODES

Urban regeneration comes in many forms and scales. The diversity of these projects requires new and diverse business models.

Many speakers at the Urban Regeneration Forum spoke about different types of business models regarding the financing, development, and operation of urban regeneration projects. Since these projects are rather complex, flexible business models are required. There were several speakers that represented REIT companies (Real Estate Investment Trust). All speakers agreed that the functional mix is the most important factor for success, but the mix also creates new challenges. Clearly, urban regeneration is a huge step away from mono-functional developments, which dominated the urbanization process in the past. New interesting typologies have emerged, for example long rent apartments, which is in line with the government efforts to use the existing residential stock in better ways.

NEW TYPES OF OFFICE PLACES

Complexity also governs workplaces, which are becoming more diverse and differentiated in typologies.

Several speakers represented co-working spaces and presented offices of their brands. They highlighted the ongoing evolution of the workspace and the need for new workspace typologies. Thus, the workspace is still a trending and widely discussed topic. Interestingly, new office typologies are successfully placed in reused old industrial buildings and abandoned shopping malls. (Nashwork, My dream+, WE, URwork).
New technologies gave rise to new ways on how citizens interact with the urban space in the era of the sharing economy. “Like in the past, we still use a luggage when traveling, but what we put inside is different than in the past” (Mr.Xia Fengyong, Xiaomi). This ongoing development will further change the way space is designed in the process of urban regeneration.