上海迈向卓越全球城市,贯通45公里公共滨水空间

当前,滨水区的复兴已经被大量全球城市纳入建设进程之中,黄浦江两岸地区同样也是上海的城市规划所关注的重点之一。

上海,以人为本的城市。正如众多的全球城市一样,市民是其最重要的财富,而且日益显现出比自然资源或其他资源更为丰富多元的价值。伦敦、新加坡、纽约、悉尼等全球城市皆已意识到以人为本的发展方式对于城市经济发展、社会凝聚力形成及城市认同感的塑造具有至关重要的影响力,复兴滨水区域实际就是将原有的自然资源转化为新的社会资源。上海亦然,还江于民也是当局政府的一项重要举措。

在上海总规2040[1]及黄埔滨江十三五规划[2]中,杨浦大桥与徐浦大桥之间的45千米公共滨水空间将全面贯通。滨水区可达性的提升将带动各滨水区段的功能重塑,从“东外滩”(杨浦滨江)的研发与教育中心,到“北外滩”(虹口滨江)的交通运输、国际贸易金融港,再到“南外滩”(黄埔滨江)的传媒文化功能聚集区,以至浦江西岸一直延承的艺术休闲目的地,45公里滨水地区旨在打造成为世界级滨水区。而究竟能否实现其开放、包容、有魅力的发展目标仍有待观察。

这样的规划将彻底改变市民与黄浦江的互动关系,大量的市民将会以全然不同的方式体验城市滨水空间。这也将是自上海诞生以来,首次利用宜人的步行、骑行空间实现完整的滨水区域串联。居民可以从西岸的油罐艺术公园徜徉到南外滩老码头,亦可以继续漫步在杨浦滨江的岸堤之上,享受滨水空间的同时,体味工业遗产的魅力。在可见的将来,将有更多意想不到的美景成为上海新的名片。

最易阅读的城市往往是可以凝视自己的城市 – 旧金山的山丘可以看到维多利亚风格的排屋,伦敦的千禧桥可以看到圣保罗大教堂。而对于上海,浦江两岸的互眺将成为人们阅读上海、领会上海新的视角。

[1] 黄浦江两岸公共空间贯通开放,上海2040, www.supdri.com/2040/

[2] 黄浦江两岸地区发展“十三五”规划, www.shanghai.gov.cn/

45 km Public Riverside of Shanghai Global City

Many global cities around the world are in the process of regenerating their waterfronts. Shanghai’s planning too is shifting the focus of city future urban development to the HuangPu River.

Shanghai is its people. Like many global cities around the world, Shanghai’s people have become its most important asset, proving more valuable than natural or pre-existing resources. As London, Singapore, New York, Sydney, and others have all realized, a people-centered development approach is vital for the sustainability of their economic development, social cohesion, and urban identity. Global cities have turned toward their rivers, using their once natural resources now as social resources. Shanghai is no exception – its municipality is giving the Huangpu River back to its residents.

In the Master Plan 2040[1] and 13th Waterfront Five Year Plan , Shanghai has called for 45 kilometers of continuous public space from Yangpu to Xupu Bridge. Not only will the riverside now be accessible, but each district’s riverfront will also have a variety of new functions – from research & development and education hubs in the “East Bund” (Yangpu District) to water transportation and finance along the “North Bund” (Hongkou District) and media and cultural functions in the South Bund. The West Bund will carry on building itself as a art and leisure district. The 45 kilometers are intended to be fundamentally a public space. How they will be accessible – open, inviting and engaging people remains to be seen.

While still a basic sketch, this plan implicates an inherent shift in how Shanghai residents are able to interact and engage with the Huangpu River. The average Shanghai resident will have the opportunity to experience their city and river in a profoundly different way. For the first time since Shanghai’s birth, a full cross section of the city will be linked through a walkable, bikable riverfront public space. Residents will be able to move from the Oil Tank Art Park in the West Bund to the Cool Docks in the South Bund up to the Yangpu District, all while enjoying the river and observing the regeneration of older industrial sites. Soon many new and unexpected views will represent the city of Shanghai.

The most identifiable cities are often the ones that gaze upon themselves – San Francisco’s hills allow views of Victorian row houses, London’s Millennium Footbridge allows views of St. Paul’s Cathedral. And as for Shanghai, the banks of the Huangpu River will soon provide unprecedented views and engagement from Pudong to Puxi and Puxi to Pudong.

[1] Public Riverside, Shanghai 2040, www.supdri.com/2040/

[2] Riverside 13th five year plan, www.shanghai.gov.cn/